Avatar
Highlighting forgotten, neglected, abandoned, forsaken, unrecognized, unacknowledged, overshadowed, out-of-fashion, under-translated writers. Has no one read your books? You are in good company.

Brought to you by

50 Watts (WS)
Invisible Stories (SS)
(un)justly (un)read (JS)

throwoffharvester@noteemail.notvalideditorsthrowoffharvester@noteemail.notvalid@writersthrowoffharvester@noteemail.notvalidnoonethrowoffharvester@noteemail.notvalidreads.com

@WritersNoOneRds / Facebook

WNOR 2013 Book Preview

Disclaimer

These writers are famous in some part of the internet or the world. Some may be famous in your own family or in your own mind.

browse by country

Argentina
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Brazil
China
Czech Republic
Denmark
England
Finland
France
Germany
Hungary
Iran
Italy
Japan
Lithuania
Martinique
Mexico
Morocco
Netherlands
Poland
Romania
Russia
Scotland
Serbia
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
United States


No one reads Rudolph Wurlitzer (b. 1937, Texas), that is, if Barthelme and Pynchon—advocates of Wurlitzer’s Nog—don’t count, and if I don’t include the small cult following that the book has had since its debut in 1969. Still, by my esoteric calculations, Wurlitzer could use some more exposure, especially for his later works, e.g., Flats and Quake.

Fans of Beckett, Denis Johnson, and Bukowski—just to name a few kindred spirits—should definitely give Wurlitzer a read.

For more about Rudy, see:

"Wurlitzer’s Wiles", Gary Indiana's survey of Wurlitzer's books
Jeremy Hatch’s short, and perceptive, essay on Nog at the Quarterly Conversation
The official Rudolph Wurlitzer website
The IMDB listing of Wurlitzer’s filmography
(Image: the 1970 Pocket Books edition; I couldn’t find any artist credit in the paperback—contacted the publisher, still waiting for a reply)

No one reads Rudolph Wurlitzer (b. 1937, Texas), that is, if Barthelme and Pynchon—advocates of Wurlitzer’s Nog—don’t count, and if I don’t include the small cult following that the book has had since its debut in 1969. Still, by my esoteric calculations, Wurlitzer could use some more exposure, especially for his later works, e.g., Flats and Quake.

Fans of Beckett, Denis Johnson, and Bukowski—just to name a few kindred spirits—should definitely give Wurlitzer a read.

For more about Rudy, see:

(Image: the 1970 Pocket Books edition; I couldn’t find any artist credit in the paperback—contacted the publisher, still waiting for a reply)

102 notesShowHide

  1. pvoland reblogged this from canacol
  2. canacol reblogged this from uutpoetry
  3. neatomosquitoshow reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  4. iseeacityburning reblogged this from 50watts
  5. mobsterbisque reblogged this from writersnoonereads and added:
    headventure.
  6. tanshoesandpinkshoelaces reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  7. notesfromaboveground reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  8. psychedeliclovemachine reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  9. orchid-ink reblogged this from 50watts
  10. harri-teikkas-psych-out reblogged this from litterature
  11. uutpoetry reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  12. okaycheckitout reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  13. spacerevue reblogged this from mawrdew
  14. samsmyth reblogged this from 50watts
  15. wewantnothing reblogged this from litterature
  16. outopie reblogged this from a-l-ancien-regime
  17. mirumirumiru reblogged this from 50watts
  18. librarystyle reblogged this from writersnoonereads
  19. roodkapje reblogged this from 50watts
  20. unjustlyunread reblogged this from writersnoonereads and added:
    No one reads Rudolph Wurlitzer (b. 1937, Texas), that is, if Barthelme and Pynchon—advocates of Wurlitzer’s Nog—don’t...